About Society

Indian Society for Cotton Improvement (ISCI) was founded in 1974. The credit for conceptualizing a professional institution of cotton scientists in India goes to the triumvirate Dr. V. Sundaram, Dr. V. Santhanam and Shri. S.B.P. Rao, who in 1974 had adorned the offices of the Director CIRCOT, Project Coordinator of AICCIP and the Directorate of Cotton Development, respectively. Conversations the trio had on the sidelines of an all-India Seminar at CIRCOT organized in celebration of Golden Jubilee of the institute during 24th to 27th December 1974 crystallized into a resolve to establish a scientists’ forum that would strive to promote cotton production and utilization. With its broad objectives identified in a trice, ISCI’s formation was formally announced on 27th December 1974 during the plenary session that marked the conclusion of CIRCOT’s jubilee celebration.

ISCI acquired the status as a registered society by August, 1975 (Registration No. Bom/1956/75 GBBSD of 20-08-1975). The birth of ISCI was hailed by the community of cotton scientists with great enthusiasm. Instant patronage was received from prominent persons like Dr. M. S. Swaminathan, the then Director-General of ICAR, who consented to be the first President of the Society. The first Executive Committee of ISCI was formed with Dharmarajulu, as the Chairman, Shri S. B. P. Rao as Vice-chairman and Dr. V. Sundaram as Honorary Secretary. The Executive Council went about with the task of framing the rules and regulations as well as enrolling members.

Objectives and Activities of ISCI

The objectives of the Society are listed out in the booklet on the Rules and Regulations framed in the early days. Over the decades, however, the Society’s interests and involvements have grown considerably. ISCI’s activity agenda reflects the following interests:

  • Work for the promotion of research in different branches of agriculture and technology relating to cotton and its by-products
  • Organise seminars, conferences and workshops to enable scientists and others to come together and exchange ideas
  • Publish a scientific journal that will act as a medium for disseminating research information within the country and beyond on subjects relating to cotton production and utilization
  • Accord recognition to scientists for their meritorious research work in various fields of agriculture and technology by giving awards in cash as well as in other forms through creation of necessary corpus
  • Provide a forum for cotton scientists as well as other people connected with cotton production and utilization to discuss all matters relating to this crop and thus highlight issues and challenges
  • Invite outstanding scientists and other achievers in different fields of activity to deliver lectures on topics of current interest
  • Bring out bulletins, books, reports etc. on topics of contemporary interest
  • Work in association with other national and international societies/organizations having similar objectives

Present Officer Bearers (2019-2021)

President Shri Suresh Kotak
Chairman Dr. A. J. Shaikh
Hon. Secretary Dr. P. G. Patil
Joint Secretary Dr. Sundaramoorthy C
Hon. Treasurer Mrs. Prachi Mhatre

Past Office Bearers of ISCI Since 1975

President Emeritus     Chairman  
Name Year   Name Year
1. Dr. M. S. Swaminathan 1975 -1981 1. Dr. K. Dharmarajulu 1975 -1981
2. Dr. A. B. Joshi 1981 -1986 2. Shri. J. K. S. Nicholson 1981 -1984
3. Dr. V. Santhanam 1986-1988 3. Shri. S. B. P. Rao 1984 -1991
4. Dr. V. Sundaram 1988-1991 4. Shri. N. S. Kulkarni 1991-1994
5. Shri. S. B. P. Rao 1991 -1994 5. Shri.C.V. Radhakrishnan 1994-1998
6. Shri. N. S. Kulkarni 1994 -1998 6. Dr. A. K. Basu 1998-2001
7. Shri. C. V. Radhakrishnan 1998 – 2001 7. Dr. V. R. Gadwal 2001 -2003
8. Dr. A. K. Basu 2001 -2003 8. Dr. K. R. K. Iyer 2003-2004
9. Dr. V. R. Gadwal 2003-2005 9. Dr. G. R. Anap 2004-2005
10.     Dr. C. D. Mayee 2005 – 2019 10.    Dr. R. H. Balasubramanya 2005-2009
11.    Shri. Suresh Kotak 2009 – 2019
Hon. Secretary   Hon. Treasurer
Name Year   Name Year
1. Dr. V. Sundaram 1975-1981 1. Shri. P. G. Oka 1975 -1981
2. Shri. P. G. Oka 1981 -1987 2. Shri. T. V. K. Aiyer 1981 -1990
3. Shri. M. S. Sitaram 1987 -1989 3. Shri. V. G. Munshi 1990-1994
4. Shri. M. S. Parthasarathy 1989 -1998 4. Dr. R. H. Balasubramanya 1994 -1998
5. Shri. S. N. Nagwekar 1998-2003 5. Dr. P. V. Varadarajan 1998 – 2001
6. Dr. P. V. Varadarajan 2003-2009 6. Dr. S. G. Gayal 2001 – 2013
7. Dr. A. J. Shaikh 2009 – 2019 7. Dr(Mrs.) Sujata Saxena 2013 – 2017
8. Dr. C. Sundaramoorthy 2017 – 2019

Executive Council Members (2019-2021)

1. Dr. C. D. Mayee – President Emeritus
2. Shri Suresh Kotak – President
3. Dr. A. J. Shaikh – Chairman 
4. Dr. P. G. Patil – Hon. Secretary 
5. Dr. Y.G. Prasad – Ex-Officio Member (Director, ICAR-CICR)
6. Dr. B. M. Khadi – Vice Chairman
7. Dr. M. S. Kairon
8. Dr. V. Kumar
9. Dr. G. R. Anap 
10. Shri B. M. Vitthal
11. Shri Shirish Shah
12. Shri Manish Daga

13. Shri P. D. Mepani
14. Dr. R. P. Nachane
15. Shri R. M. Gurjar
16. Dr. S. M. Palve
17. Dr. Sujata Saxena
18. Dr. S. S. Udikeri
19. Dr. P. K. Mandhyan
20. Dr. V. G. Arude
21. Dr. Ashok Kumar Bharimalla
22. Dr. P. S. Deshmukh
23. Dr. C. Sundaramoorthy – Joint Secretary
24. Mrs. Prachi Mhatre – Treasurer

Membership of ISCI

The Society does not have premises of its own. Administrative functions are carried out by its honorary workers operating from the office space provided by CIRCOT, Mumbai free of cost.

Any individual interested in working to promote the objectives of the Society is eligible for membership. For life membership a one-time fee is required to be paid. Patron membership is accorded by the Executive Council of ISCI on payment of a prescribed fee. Scientific institutions, universities, textile mills, commercial firms, trade bodies and other organizations can seek corporate membership on payment of prescribed fee.

In addition to individual memberships accorded against payment of fee, the Society can admit eminent persons as honorary members in recognition of their contributions in cotton research, productivity, trade and industry.